Childish Gambino teases upcoming music with a surprise album

Humberto Chairez, Reporter

Donald Glover, also known as Childish Gambino, released a surprise collection of new music on March 14 named “Donald Glover Presents,” on his website.

Glover released the new album exclusively online through his streaming website for a limited time. It was taken down mid-day on March 15. It has been four years since the release of his last album “Awaken, My Love!,” and there are many rumors that this new album might be his last.

The website was comprised of a single image believed to be the cover art for the album. It was a hand-drawn sketch of chaos and fear in the open streets. Stand out images within the photo included people on fire, jumping off a building as a couple down below takes a selfie.

The album contains 12 songs:

– “Warlords.”

– “Little Foot Big Foot Get Out of the Way.”

– “Why Go to the Party.”

– “Feels Like Summer.”

– “The Violence.”

– “Under the Sun.”

– “We Are.”

– “Algorythym.”

– “Time ft. Ariana Grande.”

– “Vibrate ft. 21Savage and SZA.”

– “Beautiful.”

– “Thank You.”

Like Glover’s 2018 single “Feels Like Summer,” the album has a summer rhythmic vibe beat. But behind the fun and uplifting beats comes a very serious message.

The song “Algorythm,” contains a fun, dark and underground club beat, but while you are dancing, Glover speaks about how the song is designed to make you move. Once the listener realizes the message of the song, Glover switches the beat onto the next song.

Glover has some notable features, such as Ariana Grande, 21 Savage and SZA, who chipped in on the album, according to Vulture. But the album is mostly the work of Glover. He keeps the songs his own and does not allocate much time to his featured artists.

The most sentimental feature on the album is Glover’s son. On the track “The Violence,” Glover speaks to his son, singing the chorus “don’t worry about tomorrow.” The song abruptly stops to the voice of his son speaking and conversing with Glover about self-love.

This album is thought-provoking, upbeat and catchy. Since it has been taken down from the website, I assume the album is not complete and this may only be a taste of what is yet to come.