Conference Tournament Preview Part 2

Steven Kertis, Reporter

Steven Kertis

These tournaments will determine who makes the field of 68 for the NCAA Tournament.

In the Big West, four teams have 20 or more wins on the season. Those teams are the UC Santa Barbara Gauchos, UC Irvine Anteaters, UC Riverside Highlanders and the Hawaii Rainbow Warriors.

The Colonial Conference has a team everyone in their conference is chasing and they are the Charleston Cougars as they boast a 28-3 record on the season.

In the Conference USA conference, the Florida Atlantic Owls are the team to beat and are currently in an at-large bid. Other teams to look out for are the North Texas Mean Green and the UAB Blazers.

Next is the Horizon League where the Youngstown State Penguins lead the way with the Cleveland St Vikings and the Northern Kentucky Norse are close behind.

In the Ivy League, the Yale Bulldogs and the Princeton Tigers lead the way where the rest of the conference is close behind.

Up next is the MAAC and everyone is chasing the Iona Gaels who are 22-7 this season.

In the MEAC Conference, two teams lead the way, and they are the Norfolk St Spartans and the Howard Bison.

In the MAC Conference, four teams in the conference have 20 or more wins on the season. Those teams are the Toledo Rockets, Kent State Golden Flashes, Akron Zips, and the Ball St Cardinals.

The Missouri Valley conference has been a very competitive conference this season with five teams with 20 or more wins. Those teams are the Bradley Braves, Drake Bulldogs, Southern Illinois Salukis, Belmont Bruins, and the Indiana St Sycamores.

Another competitive conference this season has been the Mountain West which has five teams fighting for at-large bids into the NCAA Tournament. Those teams are the San Diego State Aztecs, Boise St Broncos, Nevada Wolfpack, Utah State Aggies, and the New Mexico Lobos.

Next conference is the Northeast Conference where the Fairleigh Dickinson Knights are the team to beat.  Merrimack Warriors won the conference; however they are ineligible for the NCAA tournament due to the transition from division two to division one according to the NCAA.